972 Canada Year Book 1980-81

Cabinet ministers

Members of the 20th ministry. In March 1979 the following were ministers of the federal cabinet, listed according to precedence:

Prime Minister, The Rt. Hon. Pierre Elliott Trudeau Deputy Prime Minister and President of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada, The Hon. Allan Joseph MacEachen Minister of Finance, The Hon. Jean Chrétien Secretary of State for External Affairs, The Hon. Donald Campbell Jamieson President of the Board of Economic Development Ministers, The Hon. Robert Knight Andras Minister of Transport, The Hon. Otto Emil Lang Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources and Minister of State for Science and Technology, The Hon. Alastair William Gillespie Minister of Labour, The Hon. Martin Patrick O'Connell Minister of Agriculture, The Hon. Eugene Francis Whelan Minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs, The Hon. W. Warren Allmand Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development, The Hon. James Hugh Faulkner Minister of Public Works and Minister of State for Urban Affairs, The Hon. André Ouellet Minister of Veterans Affairs, The Hon. Daniel Joseph MacDonald Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, The Hon. Marc Lalonde Minister of Communications, The Hon. Jeanne Sauvé Leader of the Government in the Senate, The Hon. Raymond Joseph Perrault Minister of National Defence, The Hon. Barnett Jerome Danson President of the Treasury Board, The Hon. J. Judd Buchanan Minister of Fisheries and the Environment, The Hon. Roméo LeBlanc Minister of Regional Economic Expansion, The Hon. Marcel Lessard Minister of Employment and Immigration, The Hon. Jack Sydney George Cullen Minister of State (Environment), The Hon. Leonard Stephen Marchand Secretary of State of Canada, The Hon. John Roberts Minister of National Health and Welfare, The Hon. Monique Bégin Solicitor General of Canada, The Hon. Jean-Jacques Blais Minister of National Revenue and Minister of State (Small Business), The Hon. Anthony Chisholm Abbott Minister of State (Fitness and Amateur Sport), The Hon. Iona Campagnolo Minister of Industry, Trade and Commerce, The Hon. John Henry Horner Minister of State (Multiculturalism), The Hon. Norman A. Cafik Postmaster General, The Hon. J. Gilles Lamontagne Minister of State for Federal-Provincial Relations, The Hon. John M. Reid Minister of Supply and Services, The Hon. Pierre De Bané. Members of the 21st ministry. In June 1979 the following were ministers of the federal cabinet according to precedence: Prime Minister, The Rt. Hon. Joe Clark Leader of the Government in the Senate, Minister of Justice, and Attorney General, The Hon. Jacques Flynn Minister of State for the Canadian International Development Agency, The Hon. Martial Asselin President of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada and Minister of National Revenue, The Hon. Walter David Baker Secretary of State for External Affairs, The Hon. Flora MacDonald Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, The Hon. James A. McGrath Minister of Public Works, The Hon. Erik H. Nielsen Solicitor General of Canada and Minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs, The Hon. Allan Frederick Lawrence Minister of Finance, The Hon. John C. Crosbie Secretary of State of Canada and Minister of Communications, The Hon. David S.H. MacDonald Minister of Labour, The Hon. Lincoln Alexander Minister of Supply and Services, The Hon. Roch LaSalle Minister of Transport, The Hon. Donald F. Mazankowski Minister of Regional Economic Expansion, The Hon, Elmer M. MacKay Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development, The Hon. Arthur Jacob Epp Postmaster General and Minister of the Environment, The Hon. John Allen Fraser Minister of State for Federal-Provincial Relations, The Hon. William Jarvis